It’s All About Tucker

Last month, I wrote about Tucker, the wonder dog.
https://twocutes.wordpress.com/2011/10/11/dinner-with-tucker/

Tucker can no longer walk – it’s been about 3 weeks.  My brother, Jason, has been carrying him everywhere and ensuring his dignity in every way.  Jason beat cancer in his early 20s (he’s now almost 40) and is very tough – clearly tougher than I am.  I don’t know that I could do what he has done for his best friend.  The situation with Tucker is very similar to human situations.  The difference is that it is not practical for dogs to use wheel chairs.  This creates a challenge that results in having to consider difficult decisions before a person is ready.

I realize people that don’t have strong relationships with animal companions will wonder why Jason did not make a tough decision a while ago.  I cannot convince you and will not try.  You either get it or you don’t.  I get it, so do all my siblings, my mother, her husband, and many friends.  I believe it has everything to do with how animals impacted someone’s childhood and/or significant portions of their life.  Review statistics on the subject.  All support the concept that people enjoy a better life with animal companions.  One of my university minors was statistics, so I know that statistics can be manipulated to express the desired results, but these stats are consistent.

Tucker’s condition has not been easy for me, at all.  My two animal companions, Izzy and Maise, are 11 and 8 years old.  The younger one is a rescue from a puppy mill, so it has been difficult, since she has had such a negative and fearful reaction to humans.

In a tribute to Tucker, the wonder dog, here are some photos for all to enjoy.

Update 11/29/11:  Tucker found peace with the help of Dr. Tom Skadron on 11/28/11.

Leave a Reply

