Zoom In

Today is the 5th of May, also known as Cinco de Mayo, a day of Mexican celebration.  Until I did an internet search, I believed it was a day to celebrate Mexico’s independence from Spain.  That is apparently NOT true.  May 5 is a date observed in the United States as a celebration of Mexican heritage and pride, and to commemorate the cause of freedom and democracy during the first years of the American Civil War.  [Thanks to Wikipedia for a fairly solid reference.]  In the Mexican state of Puebla, the date is observed to commemorate the Mexican army‘s unlikely victory over French forces at the Battle of Puebla on May 5, 1862, under the leadership of General Ignacio Zaragoza Seguín.  The United States celebrates the occasion more than Mexico.

Mexico’s Independence Day is September 16.  September 16, 1810, is the event that marks the beginning of the Mexican War of Independence and is the most important national holiday observed in Mexico. The “Grito” was the battle cry of the Mexican War of Independence by Miguel Hidalgo y Costilla, a Roman Catholic priest.  He led a planned revolt against the Spanish colonial government.

Now that history is sorted…
I’m sad to report that I am a Google failure, when it comes to the smartphone.  I don’t normally drink margaritas, but I thought it festive for today’s date.  So, I stopped by the liquor store after work to purchase margarita ingredients and discovered that I didn’t really remember the ingredients.  I’m standing in a store aisle, trying to Google without my reading glasses, and every site I try to bring up on the BlackBerry results in a HTTP error.  Arrggghh!  What makes it even worse is that I need to Zoom In on every page to even begin to read the text.  Back in the day, I could read tiny font.  Now, not so much.  I distinctly remember the ridicule I received from friends when I bought a Kindle earlier this year and was setting the font size, in hopes that I wouldn’t need reading glasses.  The Kindle adventure is a different subject for a different day.  I do use reading glasses with the Kindle.  Back to the liquor store – I gave up on the margarita idea and just bought wine.  When I got home, I could load and read the internet pages for margarita recipes.  Basic ingredients include tequila, orange liqueur, and lime juice.  There are numerous sites with great margarita drink recipes and a myriad of variations.  I searched a bit more for origin and history of the margarita drink and found that no one really seems to agree.

I had quality tequila and lime juice, but no sour mix, flavored liqueur, or Grand Marnier – only a few drops of raspberry liqueur.  I also had amaretto, but that just sounded disgusting.

I chose a Corona Light out of the refrigerator, added Key lime juice, and approximately 3/4 shot of Tres Generaciones.  It wasn’t a margarita, but was my tribute to the Puebla region of Mexico.

Leave a Reply

