Eggs Florentine with Mock Hollandaise

My girlfriend shared this recipe from the cook at quilt camp.  She said it was awesome – it is.  However, I wasn’t paying attention when I first made it and used regular yellow mustard, instead of Dijon.  It was still really good, but I think it would be better as written.  I also plan to try Jack Daniels No. 7 mustard.  I found that 1/2 serving was filling enough for breakfast.  My calculation for 1/2 serving came to 3 WW points, with 1/2 a Thomas’ Light multigrain English muffin.  

Eggs Florentine with Mock Hollandaise
Makes 1 serving
Prep Time: 15 minutes
Total Time: 15 minutes

INGREDIENTS
1/4 cup fat free plain yogurt
1 tablespoon light mayonnaise
1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
2 eggs
1 whole wheat english muffin, split, toasted
1/2 cup fresh baby spinach leaves
Dash pepper

DIRECTIONS

  1. In small microwavable bowl, microwave yogurt, mayonnaise and mustard on High 20 to 40 seconds or until warm. Stir; set aside.
  2. In 10-inch skillet, heat 1 1/2 to 2 inches water to boiling. Reduce heat to medium-low. Break each egg into shallow dish; carefully slide eggs into hot water. Quickly spoon hot water over each egg until film forms over yolk. Simmer 3 to 5 minutes or until eggs are desired doneness.
  3. Meanwhile, spread about 2 tablespoons sauce on each English muffin half. Top each with half of the spinach leaves.
  4. With slotted spoon, remove eggs from water; place over spinach. Top each with half of remaining sauce; sprinkle with pepper.

NUTRITIONAL INFORMATION – 1 serving
Calories: 372
Protein: 23g
Carbohydrate: 35g
Dietary Fiber: 5g
Total Fat: 16g
Saturated Fat: 4.1g
Cholesterol: 432mg
Calcium: 340mg
Sodium: 563mg

2 responses to “Eggs Florentine with Mock Hollandaise

  1. Jen Zingler

    Hey Beth,
    It’s Joy Eldred’s daughter…. Jenny.
    My mom shared your blog with me and I find your last couple of entries awesome. I started WW in January and have lost 35 lbs. I was doing the at work program and in September after I was gone for my Grandma’s funeral our house flooded. I was done with my sessions so I didn’t rejoin thinking I could still do well on my own. I have not gained any weight but haven’t lost either. I guess you could say I am maintaining, but that is not good enough for me. I have another 25-30lbs I want to lose before my 30th birthday in June. SO…. I am rejoining in December. I love the program and would love nothing more than to get my goal weight and then become a leader. I think its so important for every woman to be healthy, feel great, and have the confidence we all deserve. Stay strong and I love your blog! Good luck and thanks for the great words to remind me why I wanted to join in the first place. Happy Holidays and I m sure you are looking fabulous.
    Jen

    • Jenny –
      Thanks SO much for your comments. I’m glad you enjoy my ramblings. Happy Holidays to you and keep on looking fantastic!!
      Beth

Leave a Reply

